Four years ago I posted a brief article about a small bridge near where I once lived in Paignton. The title asked the question of what was the value in history ‘of a lonely and rather useless little bridge’. Suffice to say, this particular post is not one of the most visited on this site!

My previous post asked whether or not there was meaning to be found if one such little bridge was to be studied in greater depth; a mini-history or micro-history of sorts. As it is, I never did find out much more about that little bridge in Paignton. But I remain interested in the value and uses of little bridges whenever I happen to come across them whilst walking.

So, whilst enjoying a summer holiday walk on the west side of Dartmoor, I came across three very small bridges: all serving rather modest purposes in helping a walker avoid getting their toes wet. I was quite taken by these bridges, and although they may never grace the pages of history books due to never being the setting of significant events, I place these photographs here on this blog for your viewing pleasure.