What is Dartmoor 365? Here is a summary for those who have not had the pleasure of picking up a copy of one of the editions of John Haywood’s book:

‘The National Park originally comprised 365 square miles, and in this work every one has been visited in order to record in word and illustration at least one item of interest in every square mile.

Whenever you are within the Park boundary you will be able to plan excursions of an hour, a half day, or a full day, to find the items suggested, and indeed many more as well…

…There is no other book that covers the moor in such a methodical way. Besides the expected pages about hills and rivers, fords and bridges, tors and crosses, topics such as plant lore, village life, legends, letterboxes, architecture and archaeology, all find a prominent place.’

My summer 2023 quest of filling in as many squares as possible continues with S6 Brisworthy Circle. I walked across to this one having visited nearby Legis Tor [S7] on the same day. There was a little doubt in my mind as to whether I would have the energy to make it to Brisworthy Circle, mainly because I had spent so much time and effort battling with bracken whilst walking up the River Plym earlier that day. But these stone circles are always so intriguing, and so I ploughed on ahead to S7.

Back in the summer of 2021 I visited another stone circle in the Dartmoor 365 series – Hingston Hill [Q8] – and so I was interested to came across another spot. The big question whenever I see these stone circles is: what was their purpose. As Hayward in his book notes: ‘What is was used for of course still remains a mystery.’

Its history is stated to be traced back to the Bronze Age, with these 24 standing stones being placed in this circle for one reason or another. Perhaps for religious purposes or perhaps as a political statement? It is located very close to another arrangement of stones (Ringmoor stone row), which suggests that the area held some importance at one point in the past.

I enjoyed walking around the circle and then sat in the middle of it. I’m afraid to say that my imagination ran wild; I put myself in the place of some Bronze Age sap who was sacrificed to the gods. But hopefully this stone circle was used for far more gentle and peaceful purposes.